|
|
![[NJIT Library Logo]](https://libapps.s3.amazonaws.com/customers/2307/images/Libcal-logo.jpg){kind=logo}
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
|
Transport Phenomena by
The market leading transport phenomena text has been revised! Authors, Bird, Stewart and Lightfoot have revised Transport Phenomena to include deeper and more extensive coverage of heat transfer, enlarged discussion of dimensional analysis, a new chapter on flow of polymers, systematic discussions of convective momentum, energy, and mass transport, and transport in two-phase systems. If this is your first look at Transport Phenomena you'll quickly learn that its balanced introduction to the subject of transport phenomena is the foundation of its long-standing success. About the Revised 2nd Edition: Since the appearance of the second edition in 2002, the authors and numerous readers have found a number of errors--some major and some minor. In the Revised 2nd Edition the authors have endeavored to correct these errors. A new ISBN has been assigned to the Revised 2nd Edition in order to more easily identify the most correct version. For Bird's corrigenda, please click here and see Transport Phenomena in the "Books" section.
Convective Heat Transfer by
Kinetic Theory of Gases. Transport Properties. Equations of Continuity, Motion, Energy, and Mass Diffusion. One-Dimensional Solutions. Laminar Heat Transfer in Ducts. Laminar Boundary Layers. Integral Methods. Turbulence Fundamentals. Turbulent Boundary Layers. Turbulent Flow in Ducts. Natural Convection. Boiling. Condensation. Appendixes. Index.
Heat Transfer Calculations by 
Transport Processes and Separation Process Principles (Includes Unit Operations) by
In Transport Processes and Separation Process Principles, Fourth Edition, author Christie John Geankoplis offers a unified and fully updated treatment of momentum transfer, heat transfer, mass transfer, and separation processes. Enhancements to this edition include a more thorough coverage of transport processes, plus new or expanded coverage of separation process applications, fluidized beds, non-Newtonian fluids, membrane separation processes and gas-membrane theory, and much more. The book contains 240+ example problems and 550+ homework problems.
Coulson and Richardson's Chemical Engineering by
Coulson and Richardson's Chemical Engineering has been fully revised and updated to provide practitioners with an overview of chemical engineering. Each reference book provides clear explanations of theory and thorough coverage of practical applications, supported by case studies. A worldwide team of editors and contributors have pooled their experience in adding new content and revising the old. The authoritative style of the original volumes 1 to 3 has been retained, but the content has been brought up to date and altered to be more useful to practicing engineers. This complete reference to chemical engineering will support you throughout your career, as it covers every key chemical engineering topic. Coulson and Richardson's Chemical Engineering: Volume 1B: Heat and Mass Transfer: Fundamentals and Applications, Seventh Edition, covers two of the main transport processes of interest to chemical engineers: heat transfer and mass transfer, and the relationships among them.
Fluid Flow, Heat and Mass Transfer at Bodies of Different Shapes by
Most of the equations governing the problems related to science and engineering are nonlinear in nature. As a result, they are inherently difficult to solve. Analytical solutions are available only for some special cases. For other cases, one has no easy means but to solve the problem must depend on numerical solutions. Fluid Flow, Heat and Mass Transfer at Bodies of Different Shapes: Numerical Solutions presents the current theoretical developments of boundary layer theory, a branch of transport phenomena. Also, the book addresses the theoretical developments in the area and presents a number of physical problems that have been solved by analytical or numerical method. It is focused particularly on fluid flow problems governed by nonlinear differential equations. The book is intended for researchers in applied mathematics, physics, mechanics and engineering.
Convective Heat and Mass Transfer by
Convective Heat and Mass Transfer, Second Edition, is ideal for the graduate level study of convection heat and mass transfer, with coverage of well-established theory and practice as well as trending topics, such as nanoscale heat transfer and CFD. It is appropriate for both Mechanical and Chemical Engineering courses/modules.
Transient Heat Transfer by
This book presents a new and direct computational method for transient heat transfer. The approach uses the well-known dimensionless Biot number and a second dimensionless number introduced by the author. The methodology allows for a transient heat transfer calculations without using finite difference programs. The book presents many examples and various tables demonstrating the potential of this new methodology. Many diagrams illustrate the physical phenomena.
Nanofins by
Nanofins Science and Technology describes the heat transfer effectiveness of polymer coolants and their fundamental interactions with carbon nanotube coatings that act as nanofins. Heat transfer at micro/nano-scales has attracted significant attention in contemporary literature. This has been primarily driven by industrial requirements where significant decrease in the size of electronic devices/chips with concomitant enhancement in the heat flux have caused challenging needs for cooling of these platforms. With quantum effects kicking in, traditional cooling techniques need to be replaced with more effective technologies. A promising technique is to enhance heat transfer by surface texturing using nanoparticle coatings or engineered nanostructures. These nanostructures are termed as nanofins because they augment heat transfer by a combination of surface area enhancement as well as liquid-solid interactions at the molecular scale.
Heat Exchanger Design by
This Second Edition of the well-received work on design, construction, and operation of heat exchangers. Demonstrates how to apply theories of fluid mechanics and heat transfer to practical problems posed by design, testing, and installation of heat exchangers. Tables and data have been brought up to date, and there is new material on problems of vibration and fouling, and on optimization of energy use in the chemical process and manufacturing industries. Covers all basic principles of heat exchanger design, and addresses many specialized situations encountered in engineering applications.
Heat Exchanger Design Handbook by
Completely revised and updated to reflect current advances in heat exchanger technology, Heat Exchanger Design Handbook, Second Edition includes enhanced figures and thermal effectiveness charts, tables, new chapter, and additional topics--all while keeping the qualities that made the first edition a centerpiece of information for practicing engineers, research, engineers, academicians, designers, and manufacturers involved in heat exchange between two or more fluids. See What's New in the Second Edition: Updated information on pressure vessel codes, manufacturer's association standards nbsp;A new chapter on heat exchanger installation, operation, and maintenance practices Classification chapter now includes coverage of scrapped surface-, graphite-, coil wound-, microscale-, and printed circuit heat exchangers Thorough revision of fabrication of shell and tube heat exchangers, heat transfer augmentation methods, fouling control concepts and inclusion of recent advances in PHEs New topics like EMbaffle®, Helixchanger®, and Twistedtube® heat exchanger, feedwater heater, steam surface condenser, rotary regenerators for HVAC applications, CAB brazing and cupro-braze radiators Without proper heat exchanger design, efficiency of cooling/heating system of plants and machineries, industrial processes and energy system can be compromised, and energy wasted. This thoroughly revised handbook offers comprehensive coverage of single-phase heat exchangers--selection, thermal design, mechanical design, corrosion and fouling, FIV, material selection and their fabrication issues, fabrication of heat exchangers, operation, and maintenance of heat exchangers --all in one volume.
Heat Transfer - Models, Methods and Applications
The book focuses on new analytical, experimental, and computational developments in the field of research of heat and mass transfer phenomena. The generation, conversion, use, and exchange of thermal energy between physical systems are considered. Various mechanisms of heat transfer such as thermal conduction, thermal convection, thermal radiation, and transfer of energy by phase changes are presented. Theory and fundamental research in heat and mass transfer, numerical simulations and algorithms, experimental techniques, and measurements as they applied to all kinds of applied and emerging problems are covered.
Mass transfer operations for the practicing engineer
Part of the Essential Engineering Calculations Series, this book presents step-by-step solutions of the basic principles of mass transfer operations, including sample problems and solutions and their applications, such as distillation, absorption, and stripping. Presenting the subject from a strictly pragmatic point of view, providing both the principles of mass transfer operations and their applications, with clear instructions on how to carry out the basic calculations needed, the book also covers topics useful for readers taking their professional exams.
For more general resources on chemical engineering, please visit the chemical engineering libguide.
|