Research Guides: Using Databases in Architectural Research: Getting Started

Selected Databases

More databases can be found via the comprehensive A-Z list

Off-campus access to library subscribed databases requires UCID and password login

Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
An index database provides access to art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes peer-reviewed publications and citations of book reviews. Coverage:1929-1984
Artstor This link opens in a new window
Artstor provides faculty and students with a complete image resource covering a wide array of subjects with the breadth and depth to add context and examine influences beyond the confines of one's discipline. Contains hundreds collections composed of over two million images (and growing).
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and architecture.
Grove Art Online This link opens in a new window
Access is available for 3 simultaneous users. The Grove Dictionary of Art Online contains articles on every aspect of the visual arts - painting, sculpture, graphic arts, architecture, decorative arts and photography - from prehistory to the present day. Entries include bibliographic information with related resources.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR includes hundreds of core titles across disciplines including humanities, social sciences, business, science and mathematics, botany, ecology, health sciences, and more.

Littman Library Image Database
The Archlib Image Database is a searchable and browsable database of images from various collections within the Littman Architecture Library. The image database is searchable by creator, project, and location.