Subject Liaison
Biological Sciences,
Biomedical Engineering,
Chemical, Biological & Pharmaceutical Engineering,
Chemistry & Environmental Science,
Civil & Environmental Engineering,
Physics
Comments (0)
Selected Print Reference Books with Physical Property Data
Feedback
Welcome
Welcome to Bruce Slutsky subject guides page. This page will help you to learn about library resources in my areas of responsibility.
Tutorial with Narration
Indexes to Physical, Chemical, and Thermodynamic Data
You may search for a property. The index will indicate a print or electronic source where this data may be found. These indexes are provided by:
- Arizona State University
- Chemistry on Mobile DevicesA list of chemistry related apps compiled by Andrea Twiss-Brooks of the University of Chicago. Some apps with physical property data are included.
- Duke University
- Physical and Chemical Properties Index from the University of Wisconsin at Madison
- Physical Properties Sources IndexProvided by Swiss Federal Institute of Technology Zurich
- State University of New York at BuffaloMaterials Property Locator Database
- State University of New York at BuffaloSpectra and Spectral Database
- University of Texas at AustinThermodex
- Vanderbilt University
Primary Sources of Physical Property Data
- ASM Handbooks Online (American Society for Metals) For the NJIT community only
- ChemBioFinderA Source for finding basic property data
- ChemeoCheméo is a search engine for high quality chemical properties. It was developed by Dr. Claude Leibovici and Loic d'Anterroches.
- Chemicalland21A database of safety and physical property data for over 200,000 products
- ChemID Plus A free, web-based search system that provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases
- ChemID Plus LightA version of the above which is available for Name and RN searching without the need for plugins or applets.
- ChemMobiA mobile app which provides access to chemical structures, chemical properties, supplier information and safety data via web services.ChemMobi is developed by Accelrys
- ChemSpiderA database of over 10 million chemical structures with physical property data. richest single source of structure-based chemistry information.
- ChemSpider MobileFor smartphones
- Chemspider Slide ShowPresentation by Antony Williams
- ChemSynthesisA database of 40,000 compounds with reference to their synthesis and selected physical properties
- Dielectric ConstantsCompiled by Clipper Controls
- Environmental Fate Database developed by Syracuse Research Corporation under the sponsorship of the EPA.
- International Critical Tables
- IUPAC-NIST Solubility Database
- Knovel Critical Tables
- Korean Thermophysical Properties Data BankThis site provides useful inforamtion about thermophysical properties and calculation methods for hydrocarbons, light gases, polymers and electrolyte solutions commonly encountered in chemical engineering practices.
- Material Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)Where to find them on the web
- Matweb A searchable database of material properties
- Merck Index
- MSDS ProviderFree access to manufacturer-direct MSDSs
- NIST Online DatabasesA list with links and annotations to all databases provided by NIST
- NIST WebbookFor Finding Thermochemical and Spectral Information
- Periodic Table of the ElementsFrom Web Elements
- Periodic Table of the ElementsChemicool
- Periodic Table of the ElementsFrom ChemicalElements.com
- PubChemNIH's small molecule repository
- Sigma-Aldrich DatabaseSearch for physical properties and spectral data of substances sold by this company
- Solubility DatabaseFrom IUPAC-NIST
- ToxnetDatabases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health, and toxic releases
- U.S. EPA Substance Registry Services
Secondary Sources of Physical Property Data
- Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry
- Alfa AesarA chemical company catalog with some physical property data
- Cambridge Crystallographic Data Center
- Cameo ChemicalsDatabase of Hazardous Materials
- Carcinogenic Potency Database
- Ceramics Webbook (from NIST)provides physical properties of ceramic materials
- ChemBlinkOnline Database of chemical substances
- ChemExper Database
- Chemical BookA list of suppliers of chemicals with some physical property data
- Chemical Elements - Physical Properties DatabasePublished by Science Daily
- Chemistry ReferenceProvides you with capsules on many topics in chemistry. Additionally, there are reference tables and profiles of every element and thousands of compounds.
- ChemMobi (for iPhone)
- Crystallography DatabaseProvided by Indiana University
- Data and Property Calculation Websitescompiled by the Thermodynamics Research Laboratory of the University of Illinois at Chicago
- Design Institute for Physical Properties (DIPPR) Database
- Enzyme DatabaseA Comprehensive Enzyme Information System
- euSDB - A Database of Materials Safety Datasheets
- Gas Encylcopediaphysical and thermodynamic properties of 138 gases
- Handbook of Basic Atomic Spectroscopy DataPublished by NIST
- Hazardous Substances Data Banka review of environmental and health aspects of over 4,500 chemicals
- Household Products Database From NLM
- INCHEMChemical Safety Information from Intergovernmental Organizations
- International Centre fro Diffraction Data
- International Spectroscopic Databasean electronic database and archive for spectroscopic and associated data
- Kaye and Laby's Online Tables of Physical and Chemical ConstantsProvided free by the National Physical Laboratory of the UK
- Landolt-Bornstein Substance/Property Indexa compilation of physical and chemical data for substances
- Lookchem.com
- Materials ProjectA repository of calculated properties of inorganic materials
- Melting Point Data Explorer
- MSDS SolutionsCan search for Materials Safety Data Sheets
- NIOSH Pocket Guide to Chemical Hazardsincludes physical property and toxicity data
- NMR Database An NMR database (web database) for organic structures and their nuclear magnetic resonance (nmr) spectra
- Organic Compound Databasecompiled by Harold M. Bell at Virginia Tech
- PGM Database
- Physical Reference Data from the Physics Laboratory of NIST
- Smithsonian Physical Tables From Knovel
- SOLV-DBA database of properties of solvents
- Spectral Database for Organic Compounds, SDBS
- Spectroscopy Now
- Thermodynamic Data and Property Calculation Websites
- U.S. EPA Integrated Risk Information SystemToxicity of Chemical Substances
- Vapor Presssure and Vapor Liquid Equilibrium Datacompiled by Shuzo Ohe of Science University of Tokyo
- Zeolite Structure Database
Featured Author |
Liaison to:: Biological Science, Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry & Environmental Science, Physics |
![[NJIT logo]](http://library1.njit.edu/images/njit_logo.gif)









Loading...
