This is the "On the Library Website" page of the "Find the Full Text of an Article" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
[NJIT logo]
Ask A Librarian | Hours | Directions | My Library Account

Find the Full Text of an Article   Tags: articles, full_text, journals  

Viewers will learn how to find the full text of a known journal article in the NJIT Library.
Last Updated: Dec 16, 2015 URL: http://researchguides.njit.edu/findfulltext Print Guide RSS Updates

On the Library Website Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Steps for finding a known article within a journal

Follow these quick steps to find a known journal article:

  1. Go to the library home page
  2. Click on the Find Journals tab in the box in the center of the page.
  3. In the box, type in the title of the periodical (name of journal, magazine or newspaper) NOT the article title.
  4. Click submit
  5. Results will show the dates of the issues that NJIT has access to and  and a link to get there.
    Note: Links that begin with NJIT Print will open the library catalog – at this point, look to see if the journal isn’t available in another location with a database link.
  6. Click on the link and then browse or search to find your article. Each source is different, please ask an NJIT Librarian if you need help.
 

Welcome

This find the full text of a known journal article in the NJIT Library, 

search for articles by title, author, or keyword, go to the library homepage and use Search All which searches all NJIT library databases for articles, books, conference proceedings, and more. (Use the radio buttons to specify the type of search)  Enclose exact titles in quotation marks.

If you are on the campus network, you can sometimes use Google Scholar as a shortcut to full-text link.

 

Find the full text of an article at NJIT

After viewing this Powerpoint, you will be able to:

  • recognize when to use the Articles via Journals link vs. the Articles via Databases link on the library left hand menu
  • determine if NJIT has electronic access or a print subscription to a specific journal
  • retrieve the full text of an article using Journal Finder if NJIT

 

Feedback

Was this information helpful?

How useful is this page?
(1 = Not Useful, 5 = Very Useful!)

Additional comments:


Your Email:


Ask a Librarian

Profile Image
Reference Librarians
Contact Info
askalibrarian@njit.edu
973-596-3210

Research HelpDesk Hours:
Mon to Thur, 10 am to 7 pm;
Friday, 10:00 am - 5:00pm;
Not available - Sat/Sun
Send Email
 

New Jersey Institute of Technology | University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982 | (973) 596-3206 | Maintained by Robert W. Van Houten Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip