Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
[NJIT logo]

For Faculty: Google Scholar

Manage your Google Scholar Profile

Your Librarian can work with you to get it done!

What is Google Scholar?

It is a filter that eliminates all but scholarly work from a regular google search result.

What are the benefits of Google Scholar?

  • Google Scholar, like Google, uses natural language which is easier to search than the more complex searching rules required by library research databases.
  • Google Scholar provides a wide range of interdisciplinary results.
  • Google Scholar also provides links to articles that are “Cited By” and “Related Articles.”
    • The “Cited By” feature allows you to look at articles that have cited the article you found.

For these reasons, Google Scholar is a good  compliment to the NJIT' library databases!

What are the differences between Google Scholar and the library databases?

  • Google Scholar searches a different pool of articles from those available in NJIT's research databases... but there is a good deal of overlap.
  • Google Scholar searches both peer reviewed and non-peer reviewed information--some library databases have both, some only scholarly works.
  • Google Scholar returns results that sometimes require you to pay for full text of the articles.
  • Library databases often allow you to limit to only peer reviewed articles or only full text articles like there is in many of the more robust library research databases.
  • Both can be used to export citations in Endnote or other bibliographic formats, but the databases are more robust and the citations are usually more complete and correctly formed.
  • Both Google Scholar and SCOPUS provide a "Cited By" feature so you can trace the use of scholarly work going forward in time.  This helps your research process because it links to other articles that have commented on the original article you found, giving you a better understanding of how relevant and reliable that original article is to your research subject.
  • Both Google Scholar and SCOPUS provide links to "related articles."

When Should I use Google Scholar?

  • You are new to the research process and would benefit from using more natural language to search.
  • It is early in your research process, and you can benefit from the wide range of disciplines Google Scholar searches.
  • You need background information on your topic and/or need help narrowing down your topic before diving into the library’s databases. 
  • You need help brainstorming keywords and phrases to use when you search in the library’s research databases. 
  • You want to check out what other articles have cited an article that you have found particularly helpful to your research project.
Google Scholar has some limited advanced search features... the search screen is buried beneath My Library / on a drop down next to the Citations button on the right.

I found a great article on Google Scholar but there is no full text, or it costs money, now what?

When you are using Google Scholar from off campus and cannot locate the full text on the open web, return to the library homepage to search for the item beginning at the library homepage.  This will enable you to authenticate and discover subscriptions via the library to which you are already entitled for free.

Use the library’s  Find Journals tab on the library homepage.  For step-by-step instructions see Find Full Text.

If the library has online access to this article, it will be returned here and you will go into a database to access the full text of that article. Sometimes, you are taken into the full text of the journal, but not to the specific article. If that is the case, you will need to use the citation information including the volume, issue and year to find the correct issue you need to get the article you want.

If the library has this article in print, it will tell you where in the library this item is located, and the call number for that journal.

If the library does not have full text access to your article, you can request this article by using the Interlibrary Loan (ILL) tab on the library homepage to request the item through the free service for NJIT faculty students and staff.  You will have to authenticate yourself using your last name and Library barcode found on the back of your ID.

If you have questions with any of the steps in this process, stop by the reference desk or email us (askalibrarian@njit.edu) and a reference librarian will happily teach you find what you are looking for!

Source:  Adapted from San Diego State University Library accessed 2014 /  http://library.sdsu.edu/reference/news/using-google-scholar-effectively original author: Brittany Cronin

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
NJIT Librarians
Contact:
Live Chat Hours:
* Monday-Thursday, 10am to 7pm
* Friday, 10am to 5pm
* Saturday & Sunday, not available
Phone: 973-596-3210
Text: 973-510-2060
Website

New Jersey Institute of Technology 
University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982
(973) 596-3206
Contact Us |  Ask A Librarian | Map & Directions |  A to Z Site Index

Copyrighted 2020 | Robert W. Van Houten Library