Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
[NJIT logo]

Intro to Library Databases

This handy guide will introduce you to databases and how to use them effectively.

Subject Guide

Profile Photo
NJIT Librarians
Contact:
Live Chat Hours:
* Monday-Friday, 10am to 7pm
* Saturday & Sunday, not available
Phone: 973-596-3210
Text: 973-510-2060
Website

What is in a database?

Databases give you the information needed to find the article

  • Citation – although the index may not contain the article itself, the citation will provide information that you need to find the article.

  • Abstract – It may also include an abstract or summary of the article’s content.

  • Full text – sometimes an index will link to the complete text of an article.

Why do you use a database?

A database will show you articles that match for your search terms. 

Otherwise, you would have to look through each issue of each periodical for articles on your topic.  Some databases also include books, or references to books, conference proceedings, and other types of reports.  Sometimes the database includes the full text of the source referenced.

New Jersey Institute of Technology
University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982
(973) 596-3206
Contact Us | Ask A Librarian |  Map & Directions | A to Z Site Index

Copyrighted 2020 | Robert W. Van Houten Library