Skip to main content
[NJIT logo]

Research in Architecture and Design: Library and Online Resources on Research

Choosing & Using Sources: A Guide to Academic Research - this book will help you with your research assignments, explain how to evaluate and use various sources, and provide writing tips

Research Basics: an open academic research skills course

Dictionaries of Terms

Steps you should take

1. To get an overview of your topic you might want to start your research with the resources written by acknowledged experts. They provide you with trusted and authoritative information, appropriate terms and key-words. Among them are Grove Dictionary of Art onlineStanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, and other dictionaries and encyclopedias available in print and digital formats. To find such resources visit Databases A-Z list and search http://primo.njit.edu. While using this portal you can type in the search box words "encyclopedia" or "dictionary", chose "book" as the format, and select from the drop-down menu on the left an appropriate subject. You can also limit your search to materials "available online". Encyclopedias often include bibliographies - lists of suggested books and articles.

2. To find a book search http://primo.njit.edu. To locate information on articles search Avery Index and Design and Applied Art Index. To retrieve full-text articles search JSTOR, Academic Search Premier, OmniFile Full-Text Mega edition, Google Scholar, and some other databases. Check online tutorials to learn how to form searches and retrieve information.

3. To find images use ArtStor and Littman Library Images database. Also, you can search numerous curated online collections listed in this guide under Resources on the Web and OER in Art & Architecture tabs.

4. To find archival materials consult resources listed in this guide

5. If your research is focused on Newark check Digital Archive of Newark Architecture 

6. For research related to materials access MaterialConnexion database and read Material Collection research guide.

There are many more guides available via the Library website

Library Books on Research in Architecture, Art, and Design disciplines

New Jersey Institute of Technology 
University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982
(973) 596-3206
Contact Us |  Ask A Librarian | Map & Directions |  A to Z Site Index

Copyrighted 2019 | Robert W. Van Houten Library