Transportation

What is background information? How can it help you? 

You may be familiar with popular sources of background information such as Wikipedia. This guide will help you learn about professional and scholarly sources of background information.

Theses source can help you: 

• Narrow a paper/research topic
• Identify the social impact of your topic
• Help you learn a little bit about a topic before get started
• Fill in knowledge gaps
• And more ... 

Need background information?

Want to know about an engineering process?

Find calculations?  Formulas? Material properties?

Engineering handbooks are designed to help engineers with these types of questions and more. 

They're books engineers have "on hand" when working on projects. 

Strategies for finding handbooks: 

Search the NJIT Library Catalog for print and/or electronic handbooks

Do a web search for agencies and handbooks (Department of Transportation handbook) 

Search these library databases for relevant high quality handbooks for Transportation research and practice: 

NJIT subscribes to Access Engineering, a collection of handbooks published by McGraw-Hill. To learn more about it, consult the Access Engineering Research Guide. 

Below are a sample of Access Engineering titles of interest to students in Transportation Engineering: 

• Highway Engineering Handbook
• Handbook of Transportation Engineering
• Airport Planning and Management
• Railway Track Engineering

Access Engineering also provides: 

• Practice Exams
• Schaum's Outlines
• Codes and Standards (such as AASHTO)
• Videos
• Spreadsheets
• Case Studies
• Solutions Walkthroughs