Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
[NJIT logo]

Architectural Design Competitions: Ideas and Presentations: Writing and Citing

Cite Your Sources

You need to acknowledge used resources by describing them in the way that readers can identify and find the source. Citations usually include information on who is responsible for the text, what is the name of the text, who published it, where and when. You must include a citation when you quote the exact words of a source, paraphrase the words or just use distinctive ideas found in the source.

You can learn more about citing your sources and creating bibliographies on the library website. Our Citation guide will introduce you to both print and online resources on citation management. 

Understanding Intellectual Property

To learn general information about Intellectual property, plagiarism and citing watch NJIT tutorial Intellectual Property in the Digital Age.

You can also consult books in the library:

Online Resources for Citation Management

The majority of databases listed in this guide provide instruction on how to cite materials in various styles. You can also export citations directly from Oxford Art Online, JSTOR, Art Full Text and Artstor (consult each of them for more specific instruction or read/watch library tutorials on using these databases).

Bibliographic management software enables you to organize references and bibliographies, to import references from electronic databases and the web, and to build a bibliography according to selected styles.

You can use Microsoft Word or special tools for citation management that will do formatting for you. Among them EndNote which can be downloaded from the NJIT website, or Zotero and EasyBib which are freely available on the web.

Writing Tips

Following books contain some valuable tips for writing your papers:

New Jersey Institute of Technology 
University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982
(973) 596-3206
Contact Us |  Ask A Librarian | Map & Directions |  A to Z Site Index

Copyrighted 2020 | Robert W. Van Houten Library