Museum of Decorative Arts in Prague

1. To get an overview of your topic, you might want to start your research with the resources written by acknowledged experts. They provide you with trusted and authoritative information, appropriate terms, and keywords. Among them are the Grove Dictionary of Art online, the Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy, and other dictionaries and encyclopedias available in print and digital formats. To find such resources, visit the Databases A-Z list and search http://primo.njit.edu. While using this portal, you can type in the search box words "encyclopedia" or "dictionary", choose "book" as the format, and select from the drop-down menu on the left an appropriate subject. You can also limit your search to materials "available online". Encyclopedias often include bibliographies - lists of suggested books and articles.

2. To find a book, search http://primo.njit.edu. To locate information on articles, search the Avery Index and the Design and Applied Art Index. To retrieve full-text articles, search JSTOR, Academic Search Premier, OmniFile Full-Text Mega edition, Google Scholar, and some other databases. Check online tutorials to learn how to form searches and retrieve information.

3. To find images, use Jstor (Images) and the Littman Library Images database. Also, you can search numerous curated online collections listed in this guide under Resources on the Web and OER in Art & Architecture tabs.

There are many more guides available via the Library website

More books can be found by searching the online catalog by using subject words such as museum buildings, museum exhibits, Architecture -- Czech Republic -- Prague, Prague (Czech Republic) -- Buildings, structures, etc, or individual architects' names

Articles in periodicals can also be found by using indices and databases. For best results, consult our guide "Using Databases in Architectural Research."

The following are just a few selected databases that can be used for your research: