This is the "Getting Started" page of the "How to Find Biological Activity and Synthetic Methods of Organic Substances" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
[NJIT logo]
Ask A Librarian | Hours | Directions | My Library Account

How to Find Biological Activity and Synthetic Methods of Organic Substances   Tags: bruce_slutsky, chemistry  

This guide is written for students of Chemistry 243, but others may use it
Last Updated: Oct 2, 2014 URL: http://researchguides.njit.edu/organic Print Guide RSS Updates
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

  Subject Liaison

Chemical, Biological & Pharmaceutical Engineering,

Chemistry & Environmental Science,

Civil & Environmental Engineering,

Physics

 

Selected Reference Books in Pharmaceutical Chemistry

Cover Art
Merck Index - Maryadele J. O'Neil, editor
Call Number: Ready Ref RS51 .M4 2006
ISBN: 091191000X

Cover Art
Martindale : the complete drug reference - Edited by Sean C. Sweetman.
Call Number: Ready Ref RS141.3 .M37 2005
ISBN: 0853695504

 

  Welcome

Welcome to Bruce Slutsky subject guides page. This page will help you to learn about  resources that can help you find information on the bioactivty of organic substances, their physical properties and how they are prepared in the laboratory or isolated from natural sources.

 

Special Note for Students of Chemistry 243

The two most import electronic resources for the assignment are:

  • Scifinder - please sign up for an account to use it
  • Knovel - for physical properties

The Merck Index which is available only in print at NJIT may also be useful

The following research guides are also helpful

Selected Internet Resources

  • CheBI (Chemical Entities of Biological Interest )  
      
  • ChEMBL  
      
  • ChemID Plus
    A free, web-based search system that provides access to structure and nomenclature authority files used for the identification of chemical substances cited in National Library of Medicine (NLM) databases
  • Chemspider
    A database of over 10 million chemical structures with physical property data. richest single source of structure-based chemistry information.
  • Drug Bank  
      
  • Drug Index A to Z
    Provides information on over 24,000 prescription and over the counter medications available in the USA
  • Drug Information Subject Guide
    Provided by the National Library of Medicine
  • Drugs.com
    The most popular, comprehensive and up-to-date source of drug information online. Providing free, peer-reviewed, accurate and independent data on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products
  • Hazardous Substances Data Bank
    A toxicology database that focuses on the toxicology of potentially hazardous chemicals
  • Knovel
    A searchable database of handbooks, data sets and reference sources in science, technology and engineering. It includes some information about biologically active substances. Please access it from the library home page when off campus.
  • Materials Safety Data Sheets (MSDS)
    Material safety data sheets provide physical and biological properties of chemical substances. This sources provides links to where they may be found.
  • Materials Safety Data Sheets - where to find them
    Materials Safety Data Sheets may be used to find toxicological information on chemical substances
  • Medline (PubMed version)
    Medline can also be searched through Scifinder and Scopus
  • Merck Index  
      
    The electronic version is subscription based and is not available at NJIT. The print version is at Ready Ref RS51 M4 2006
  • PubChem  
      
  • PubChem
    A database of bioactivities of small molecules provided by the National Library of Medicine.
  • Rxlist - The Internet Drug Index
 

NJIT Library's Twitter Feed

Featured Author

Profile Image
Bruce Slutsky
Technical Reference Librarian
Logo - AIMLogo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
973-642-4950
Send Email
Liaison to:
Biological Science, Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry & Environmental Science, Physics
 

New Jersey Institute of Technology | University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982 | (973) 596-3206 | Maintained by Robert W. Van Houten Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip