Skip to main content
[NJIT logo]

Littman Library Services & Support due to COVID-19:: Home

Library Operation

Starting March 16th the Littman Library will provide services remotely. 

You can contact us directly by email or by scheduling a virtual appointment.

You can also click on the AskUs button to connect to reference services by several university librarians via chat or email.

To access all electronic resources restricted to the NJIT community from off-campus you will be asked to authenticate using your UCID. You may also use a VPN to access the library, but it is not necessary. Check the website for detailed information on accessing resources remotely. 

Access to journal articles in architecture, art, design, and other subject areas is provided by a variety of databases. For material not owned by the NJIT Library, Interlibrary Loan Services will still be available.

 

More information about the Van Houten Library and its services can be found on the Van Houten Library website.

Databases

 Databases: Below are just a few recommended databases related to topics of architecture and design that have content readily available online. A full list of databases can be found on the library website.

Selected databases specialized in art, architecture, and design

  • Artstor  - A database of over 2 million images of art, architecture, design, science, technology, anthropology and more!
  • Avery Indexindexes major architectural periodicals and provides information on architecture, landscape architecture, interior design
  • DAAI- abstracts of articles on design and applied art
  • Detail Inspiration -a full-text database with images and technical information from DETAIL  magazine
  • Grove Dictionary of Art Online - contains articles on every aspect of the visual arts 
  • MaterialConnexion - information about thousands of innovative materials
  • Pidgeon Digital- a collection of video talks by architects and designers
  • Stash - online video archive of  design, animation, and VFX

General content databases

  • EbscoHost -allows for searching simultaneously several databases
  • JSTOR - Database containing full-text articles covering a wide range of subjects.
  • OmniFile access to full-text articles on a variety of subjects

Databases maintained by the Littman Library

Separate Issues of El Croquis

El Croquis have published in their Digital Library three complete volumes of El Croquis, marked with the tag #stayathome. To read the copies, you need to enter the Digital Library catalog from any device and click on "free sample" in the labeled copies. Included:

El Croquis 157 Studio mumbai 2003 2011
El Croquis 166 Caruso St John 1999 2013
El Croquis 127 John Pawson 1995 2005 

Image Sources on the Web

Images can be found in books, image databases, and on the web.

To learn more about finding and citing images check the guides Finding Images in Architecture, Art & Design and Research in Architecture and Design: Library and Online Resources.

Archival Materials

Some of your research will require access to primary source materials, which may include archival resources. Several of these are available online, and include both text and images. To locate such collections, check this page.

Research Help

Research help can be provided by email, chat, or video conferencing using Google Meet, Zoom, WebEx , or Skype - whichever method works best for you.

Numerous Research Guides are available to help to navigate the library and online resources on a variety of subjects. We currently have over 30 guides related to architecture and design only, including Research in Architecture and Design: Library and Online Resources on Research.

There are also many helpful general guides.

E-Books

The library has access to a great variety of electronic books that can be downloaded and viewed at any time, from anywhere. To search for e-books from the online catalog, limit results to available online. To download e-books, you will need to log in using your UCID. Detailed information on e-books at NJIT including information on software needed to view downloaded books is available on the library website. 

Here are just a few notable collections:

Also, the following collections of Bloomsbury  Press (marked in red) are available through May 31st, 2020 (Note that Chrome is a recommended browser for these resources)

To find information on Open Educational resources freely available online check library guides  Open Educational Resources in Architecture, Art and Design and Research in Architecture and Design: Resources on the Web

To get direct access to selected e-books from the library collections visit the library guide Selected Books for Online Teaching & Learning 

 

Teaching online

Below are three video tutorials for online teaching which "cover the essential information that faculty need to know to do the most important things" created and generously shared with us by Professor Taher. They also show examples of Professor Taher's architecture online courses.

1- Video 1 shows how to record and post lectures online to Moodle or Canvas using the Kaltura software.

How to Record and Post Online Lectures

2- Video 2 shows how to create and proctor online exams using the Respondus LockDown Browser + webcam and ProctorU.

Online Exams and Proctoring

3- Video 3 has a few more helpful hints and practical information on the following: 

  • How to link to external websites such as Youtube in Canvas or Moodle to show videos
  • How to load video files, such as MP3 or MP4 files, to the Mediaspace Gallery
  • How to use the Program OneNote in online teaching
  • How to share links to your video lectures with colleagues by email

More Examples and Helpful Hints 

and

Online Teaching: Teleconferencing from your Canvas Course Page

If you have questions regarding these tutorials you can contact professor Taher at Taher@njit.edu 

If you need instructional support you can contact the NJIT Office of Digital Learning

More information instructional continuity available at https://www.njit.edu/ite/instructional-continuity

Online Tutorials

Pluralsight -a collection of video tutorials for various software

Software for Architecture, Digital Art and Design at HCAD

Tutorials on how to use several databases can be also found on the page Databases

New Jersey Institute of Technology 
University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982
(973) 596-3206
Contact Us |  Ask A Librarian | Map & Directions |  A to Z Site Index

Copyrighted 2019 | Robert W. Van Houten Library