Skip to main content
[NJIT logo]

Ebooks @ NJIT: Free eBooks Online

This guide provides information about ebooks and ebook collections @ NJIT

Freely Accessible Ebook Libraries and Portals

Below is a list of freely accessible ebook libraries and portal. Access is open access and coverage dates varies.

  • Directory of Open Access Books

    DOAB aims to increase discoverability of Open Access books. The directory is open to all publishers who publish academic, peer reviewed books in Open Access and meet academic standards. Books listed in DOAB are freely accessible to read and share for non-commercial use. Currently there are about 3,600 academic peer-reviewed book from 129 publishers in DOAB.

  • Feedbooks Public Domain

    Thousands of public domain and "original" eBooks available for free and are downloadable to your smartphones, tablets or dedicated eReaders.

  • Google Book Search

    Search for public domain or not copyrighted full text of more than seven million books through Google Books. Not all books are available in full-text online. Some titles have previews or snippets available.

  • HathiTrust Digital Library

    HathiTrust catalog offers full-text search across all items in the respository (including public domain and in copyright works) HathiTrust provides bibliographic searching (title, author, subject, ISBN, pubhisher, and year of publication) and faceted browsing of all items in the digital library. HathiTrust provides a baseline of access tools for content in the repository and works with participating libraries. HathiTrust has also elaborated open service definitions (APIs) to make it possible for participating libraries to develop other secure access mechanisms.

  • Internet Archive Digital Books Collections

    The Internet Archive Archive offers over 6 million fully accessible public domain eBook containing a wide range of fiction, popular books, children's books, historical texts and academic books. This collection is open to the community for the contribution of any type of text, many licensed using Creative Commons licenses.

  • Open Library

    Open Library is a free, digital lending library with millions of eBooks that can be read in a browser or downloaded for reading offline. Open Library's aims to provide a page on the web for every book ever published. An open project which harvest catalog records from various resources. Currently it contains over 20 millions online records with access to 1.7 million scanned version of books, and link to external sources like WorldCat and Amazon. It also provides a URI for a work, an edition or author or other book-ish resource that can be used as a pointer and connector for information about books

  • Project Gutenberg

    Generally, the texts are taken from books published pre-1923. You will find the classic books from the start of this century and previous centuries, from authors like Shakespeare, Poe, Dante, as well as well-loved favorites like the Sherlock Holmes stories by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle, the Tarzan and Mars books of Edgar Rice Burroughs, Alice's adventures in Wonderland as told by Lewis Carroll, and thousands of others.

  • The Online Book Page @ UPenn

    The Online Books Page is a website that facilitates access to books that are freely readable over the Internet. Major parts of the site include: An index of thousands of online books freely readable on the Internet, pointers to significant directories and archives of online texts, special exhibits of particularly interesting classes of online books, information on how readers can help support the growth of online books.

Google Books Search

Search for public domain or not copyrighted full text of more than seven million books through Google Books. Not all books are available in full-text online. Some titles have previews or snippets available.

Enter title, or author, or ISBN, or keyword of a book you want to locate.

New Jersey Institute of Technology 
University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982
(973) 596-3206
Contact Us |  Ask A Librarian | Map & Directions |  A to Z Site Index

Copyrighted 2019 | Robert W. Van Houten Library