Skip to main content
[NJIT logo]

Ebooks @ NJIT: ASM Handbooks Online

This guide provides information about ebooks and ebook collections @ NJIT

ASM Handbook Online

Known as THE Metals Handbooks, this handbook is a comprehensive source for information on ferrous and non-ferrous metals and materials technology. It contains peer-reviewed, trusted information in every area of materials specialization with over 25,000 pages of articles, illustrations, tables, graphs, specifications and practical examples that are updated quarterly. It features the complete content of:

  • 28 ASM Handbook volumes,
  • 3 ASM Handbook supplements, and
  • 2 ASM Desk Editions.

How to Search ASM Handbooks Online

To get started:

  1. Enter your search term(s) in the search box and click "FIND".
  2. Or browse the Table of Content (TOC) by clicking throug the levels or expand a ranch by clicking the plus sign.
  3. Content is only available in HTML format. It is non-downloadable and must be viewed online.

How to Print ASM Handbooks Online

Articles from ASM Handbooks Online have been divided into section to improve download times for web display. Therefore, each section must be printed separately. To print:

  1. Locate the article you wish to print.
  2. Click "Print Page"  button in the narrow green bar on the right side above the content.
  3. Click on the "Next Section in this Article" link to go to the next section and continue printing until the entire article is printed.

ASM Handbooks Online Content

Volume 1: Properties and Selection: Irons, Steels, and High-Performance Alloys

Volume 2, Properties and Selection: Nonferrous Alloys and Special-Purpose Materials

Volume 3, Alloy Phase Diagrams

Volume 4, Heat Treating

Volume 4A, Steel Heat Treating Fundamentals and Processes

Volume 5, Surface Engineering

Volume 5A, Thermal Spray Technology

Volume 6, Welding, Brazing, and Soldering

Volume 6A, Welding Fundamentals and Processes

Volume 7, Powder Metal Technologies and Applications

Volume 8, Mechanical Testing and Evaluation

Volume 9, Metallography and Microstructures

Volume 10, Materials Characterization

Volume 11, Failure Analysis and Prevention

Volume 12, Fractography

Volume 13A, Corrosion: Fundamentals, Testing, and Protection

Volume 13B, Corrosion: Materials

Volume 13C, Corrosion: Environments and Industries

Volume 14A, Metalworking: Bulk Forming

Volume 14B, Metalworking: Sheet Forming

Volume 15, Casting

Volume 16, Machining

Volume 17, Nondestructive Evaluation and Quality Control

Volume 18, Friction, Lubrication, and Wear Technology

Volume 19, Fatigue And Fracture

Volume 20, Materials Selection and Design

Volume 21, Composites

Volume 22A, Fundamentals of Modeling for Metals Processing

Volume 22B, Metals Process Simulation

Volume 23, Materials for Medical Devices

ASM Handbook Supplements:

  • Alumnimum Casting Alloys
  • Beryllium and Beryllium Alloys
  • Brazing
  • Distortion and Residual Stress
  • Metalworking
  • Superalloys

ASM Desk Editions and General Reference

  • Engineered Materials Desk Edition
  • Metals Handbooks Desk Edition
  • Reference Information Library

ASM Handbook Archives

  • Volume 6 (1993), Welding, Brazing, and Soldering (archived)

Access Rights to ASM Handbooks Online

Users limits: unlimited concurrent

Authorized users: current students, faculty and staff of NJIT

Permissions: display / download / print limited portions for scholarly sharing and course packs.

Restrictions: no systematic downloading, printing or distribution. No commercial use. No removal of or modification of copyright notice or disclaimer.

Interlibrary Loan: ILL any format. Copies must be made in compliance with Section 107 (fair use) and 108 (creating ILL copies) of the U.S. Copyright Code of 1976 and the CONTU guidelines.

NJIT Librarians

Ask A Librarian
Phone: 973-596-3210

HelpDesk Hours

  • Mon-Thu: 10 am to 7pm
  • Fri: 10 am to 5 pm
  • Sat/Sun: Closed

Related Guides & Subjects

New Jersey Institute of Technology 
University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982
(973) 596-3206
Contact Us |  Ask A Librarian | Map & Directions |  A to Z Site Index

Copyrighted 2019 | Robert W. Van Houten Library