This is the "Writing Dissertation" page of the "Resources for PhD students in the joint program in Urban Systems" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
[NJIT logo]
Ask A Librarian | Hours | Directions | My Library Account 
Last Updated: Nov 30, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.njit.edu/phd Print Guide RSS Updates

Writing Dissertation Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Resources on Copyright, Fair Use, and Permissions

 

General Citation Rules and Citing Images

Check what is the appropriate citation style for the paper, for example MLA.

See Purdue Online Writing Lab's great resource on general guidelines and how to cite different kinds of works.

Citing Images: When you document images you need to create captions and bibliographic citations. When an image appears in the text you should write a descriptive caption indicating the source of the image. Then you create a more detailed entry in your bibliography.   The most important is to be consistent in formating the text.

For citing images of works in visual arts you need to include basic information:

  • Author
  • Title
  • Date
  • Location/Repository
  • Material/medium
  • Dimensions (if applicable)

For example: Braque, Georges Houses at l"Estaque. 1908. Oil on canvas, 730x595mm. Kunstmuseum, Berne.

    To see more examples, including images in books, print articles, on the Internet, and in a database consult the library tutorial How to Cite Images.

    See also the NJIT Research Guide Understanding Citations 

    Online Resources for Citation Management

    You can export citations directly from most databases, including Oxford Art Online, JSTOR, Art Full Text, and Avery Index.  See the Research Guide or video tutorials on using databases.

    Bibliographic management software enables you to organize references and bibliographies. You can use Microsoft Word or special tools for citation management that will do formatting for you. Overview of citation software can be also found at MIT site

    New Jersey Institute of Technology | University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982 | (973) 596-3206 | Maintained by Robert W. Van Houten Library

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip