This is the "Home" page of the "2017 New Jersey Chemistry Olympics - Information Search" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
[NJIT logo]
Ask A Librarian | Hours | Directions | My Library Account 

2017 New Jersey Chemistry Olympics - Information Search  

This site provides a list of resources to help high school students participating in the Information Search
Last Updated: Feb 15, 2017 URL: http://researchguides.njit.edu/content.php?pid=413579 Print Guide RSS Updates
Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

This Page is Only for the Information Search Competition

If you are looking for the web page for the entire 2016 New Jersey Chemistry Olympics please access http://njchemistryolympics.com/ .  May 18, 2017 is the date of the next event which is now in the planning stages.  More information will be posted later.  Please contact Natalie Macke at nmacke@pascack.k12.nj.us if you would like to participate in the 2017 event.

 

Molecular Modeling

In the first part of the event, you presented a representation of one of 4 analgesics.  In Part II you will be asked to find information about those drug substances that you will find by searching the internet using the list of databases below or by searching Google.  The substances are:

  • Ciramadol (RN=63269-31-8)
  • Ibuprofen (RN=15687-27-1)
  • Naproxol (RN=26159-36-4)
  • Lefetamine    (RN=7262-75-1) 

You must answer all the questions, not just the one that includes the molecule you presented in part I.

Suggested Databases for the Information Search

You may use the databases listed below or the ones offered by NJIT at http://library.njit.edu/databases/databases-alpha.php

  • Chem ID Plus
    Database of over 380,000 chemicals, synonyms, structures,regulary list information, and links to other databases
  • Chemspider
    A database of millions of chemical substances with structural and textual information including physical properties.
  • Drug Bank
    A database of over 6000 drug entries
  • Drug Index A to Z
    Provides information on over 24,000 prescription and over the counter medications available in the USA
  • Drugs.com
    The most popular, comprehensive and up-to-date source of drug information online. Providing free, peer-reviewed, accurate and independent data on more than 24,000 prescription drugs, over-the-counter medicines & natural products
  • Google Patents
    Alternate database of patents from the United States and other countries. This is set to the advanced search mode
  • Google Scholar
    A database of scholarly articles in a wide range of fields
  • Knovel Handbooks
    These provide physical property data of chemical substances including drugs. You may use this only on the NJIT Campus
  • Medline
    A database of 24 million scholarly biomedical articles
  • Pubchem
    Provides information on biological activity of small molecules
  • Science Direct
    A database of journals articles published by Elsevier, the world's largest publisher of Scientific, technical, engineering, and medical information
  • SIRI Materials Safety Database Sheet Index
    A database of toxicological and physical property data
  • SRC Interactive Physical Properties Database
    Includes information on 25,000 substances. You must searchby CAS registry number
  • Toxnet
    Database on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, environmental health and toxic releases
  • United States Patent Database
    Database of United States patents
 

Format of an Article with Abstract

Kiyatkin, E.A., Bae, D.

Behavioral and brain temperature responses to salient environmental stimuli and intravenous cocaine in rats: Effects of diazepam

(2008) Psychopharmacology, 196 (3), pp. 343-356. Cited 5 times.

ABSTRACT: Rationale: While diazepam is an effective anxiolytic and somnolent drug in humans, its physiological and behavioral effects in animals are often variable. Differences in basal activity state (basal arousal) may be important in determining both this response variability and the pattern of drug influence on behavioral and physiological responses to natural arousing stimuli and other drugs. Objectives: To evaluate the changes in brain, muscle, and skin temperatures, and in locomotion induced in rats by several arousing stimuli and intravenous (i.v.) cocaine; and to assess how these responses are modulated by diazepam at a relatively low dose (1 mg/kg, i.p.). Materials and methods: Male rats were implanted with thermal probes in the nucleus accumbens (NAcc), temporal muscle, and subcutaneously, and equipped with a chronic i.v. catheter. They were exposed to 1-min tail-pinch, 1-min social interaction with another male and cocaine (1 mg/kg, i.v.) after administration of diazepam or saline. Results: While the injection of either diazepam or saline resulted in similar locomotor activation and temperature responses, diazepam decreased basal brain and muscle temperatures for about 3 h; the temperature-decreasing effect of diazepam was oppositely related to basal brain temperature (r=-0.51). After diazepam, rats also showed weaker temperature and locomotor responses to both arousing stimuli; the effect was stronger for tail-pinch and for absolute temperature increases than relative changes. Although diazepam significantly decreased cocaine-induced locomotor activation, it had virtually no effects on cocaine-induced temperature responses in all locations. Conclusions: In accordance with the "law of initial values", the temperature- increasing effects of all tested arousing stimuli and temperature-decreasing effect of diazepam depend upon basal brain temperature. The greatest temperature effects are seen with arousing stimuli at low basal arousal (increases) and with diazepam at high basal arousal (decreases). This is a likely explanation for the variability seen with the physiological and behavioral effects of diazepam in animals

Featured Author

Profile Image
Bruce Slutsky
Technical Reference Librarian
Logo - AIMLogo - FacebookLogo - Google TalkLogo - TwitterLogo - Yahoo IM
Contact Info
973-642-4950
Send Email
Liaison to:
Biological Science, Biomedical Engineering, Chemistry & Environmental Science, Physics
 

New Jersey Institute of Technology | University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982 | (973) 596-3206 | Maintained by Robert W. Van Houten Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip