Finding Books and ArticlesFinding Maps, Images & Videos
This is the "Finding Maps, Images & Videos" page of the "Finding Information on Newark Architecture" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
[NJIT logo]
Ask A Librarian | Hours | Directions | My Library Account 

Finding Information on Newark Architecture   Tags: newark  

This guide will help to find information on the built environment of Newark by using Digital Archive of Newark Architecture and other resources.
Last Updated: Nov 30, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.njit.edu/newark Print Guide RSS Updates

Finding Maps, Images & Videos Print Page
  Search: 
 

Finding Images & Videos

Read Library Research Guide: Finding Images in Architecture, Art and Design and refer to the archive page Resources for Finding Images of Newark

To find videos you can search following sites:

Finding Maps of Newark

The Digital Archive of Newark Architecture provides  access to a a few hundred digitized maps of Newark and New Jersey available both at the Littman Library and on the Web.  They can be accessed via the archive webpage Maps.

This collection includes Sanborn maps originally created for assessing fire insurance liability in urban areas of the United States. These maps contain detailed information on towns and buildings from 1867 to 1970. Littman Library houses 1930  edition of the Sanborn maps of Newark and also provides access to digitized and made available online Sanborn maps of other places in New Jersey.

In addition to Sanborn maps  there are a few other important sets of historical maps: Atlases of Newark and New Jersey of  1806-1915 , 1872, and  1911-1912, Robinson Atlas of Newark (4 volumes published in 1926-28),  as well as links to historical maps at Rutgers and Princeton Universities, as well as at Newark and New York Public Libraries.

There is also a large  selection of USGS, zoning, tax, economic development, and other maps of the area available via the archive website. To access some of those listed on the page Maps in the Littman Library & Newark Public Library you will need to login using your UCID.

      

    Ask a Librarian

    Profile Image
    Maya Gervits
    Contact Info
    phone 973-642-4390
    Barbara & Leonard Littman Library
    College of Architecture & Design, Weston Hall
    Send Email
     

    New Jersey Institute of Technology | University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982 | (973) 596-3206 | Maintained by Robert W. Van Houten Library

    Description

    Loading  Loading...

    Tip