This is the "Getting Started" page of the "Getting Started at the NJIT Library" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
[NJIT logo]
Ask A Librarian | Hours | Directions | My Library Account

Getting Started at the NJIT Library   Tags: books, circulation, getting started, introduction, liaison_program, librarian, locations  

This guide is intended to give viewers an introduction to the NJIT library.
Last Updated: Dec 12, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.njit.edu/gettingstarted Print Guide RSS Updates
Getting Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Welcome

This guide is intended to give viewers an introduction to the NJIT library.

 

Getting Started Guide

 

Getting Started at the NJIT library

Quick Overview of the NJIT LIbraries

Two Attractive Facilities

NJIT’s Main Library, The Robert W. Van Houten Library, is located in the Central Avenue Building, a facility for studying, researching, and browsing our print and online sources.  In 1997 the Van Houten Library opened the Information Commons, a computer lab with access to the Internet and a wide range of electronic sources.  Today there are over 120 workstations and wireless access throughout the building.

 The Barbara and Leonard Littman Library for Architecture and Design is located in Weston Hall.  It houses a core collection that includes print and electronic books, journals, maps, drawings, models, e-images, materials samples, and over 70,000 slides.

 The Collection

NJIT Libraries resources are now accessible anytime and anywhere as the library spends over 90% of its materials budget on electronic resources that is mostly full text articles from scholarly materials including print and electronic books, journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and theses. Databases include ACM Digital Library, Academic Search Premier, Avery Index, Business Source Premier, IEEE Xplore, Science Direct, Scopus, SciFinder Scholar,  SPIE Digital Library, SpringerLink (includes Lecture Notes in Computer Science), Wiley Online Library and many more.

The World Is Our Resource

Our users may supplement NJIT library resources by borrowing material from the Newark Public Library and the libraries of Rutgers University--Newark Campus, the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, Essex County College, and the eight state colleges of New Jersey.  Our Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery Service can bring needed materials to our researchers from anywhere in the world if necessary.

 Access, Access, Access

Access to print and electronic sources starts at the library home page, library.njit.edu.  Subject access to the journal literature in engineering, science, computer science, management, architecture, and other subject areas is provided by a variety of databases. 

 Help with Information Overload

Professional library staff provide instruction and consultation in all subject areas to enhance the ability of members of the NJIT community to connect efficiently with needed information.  Help is available in person, by phone or via email, instant messenger, and through NJ’s chat reference service 24/7. See  http://library.njit.edu/researchhelpdesk/askus.php

 Historical Archives

Included among NJIT’s information resources are the University’s historical archive including items developed and manufactured by Edward Weston--scientist, prolific inventor, and a founding member of the board of trustees of the university. Dr. Weston's collection of artifacts and rare books is housed in the Van Houten Library and is available to scholars interested in the history of science and technology.

Ask a Librarian

Profile Image
Reference Librarians
Contact Info
askalibrarian@njit.edu
973-596-3210

Research HelpDesk Hours:
Mon to Thur, 10 am to 7 pm;
Friday, 10:00 am - 5:00pm;
Not available - Sat/Sun
Send Email

Librarian

Profile Image
Davida Scharf, MLS, PhD
Contact Info
Director of Reference
Van Houten Library, NJIT
973-642-4397
Send Email
 

New Jersey Institute of Technology | University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982 | (973) 596-3206 | Maintained by Robert W. Van Houten Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip