Skip to main content
[NJIT logo]

History of Furniture: Citing Images

Understanding Intellectual Property

To learn general information about Intellectual property, plagiarism and citing visit NJIT's Research Guide Intellectual Property in the Digital Age.

You can also consult books in the library:

General Rules

Citing images of works in architecture, art and design can be challenging. Ask your professor what the preferred citation style is for the course. When you document images you need to create captions and bibliographic citations. When an image appears in the text you should write a descriptive caption indicating the source of the image. Then you create a more detailed entry in your bibliography. The most important thing is to be consistent in formatting the text.

For citing images of works in visual arts you need to include basic information:

  • Author
  • Title
  • Date
  • Location/Repository
  • Material/medium
  • Dimensions (if applicable)

For example:

Braque, Georges Houses at l"Estaque. 1908. Oil on canvas, 730x595mm. Kunstmuseum, Berne.

Images from Books

You need to include name of an artist/architect/designer, the work title, date it was created, repository/location (if applicable), and also the bibliographic information for the source in which this image appears (name of book's author, book title, publisher information, date, page and figure or plate number of the reproduction).

For example:

Goya, Francisco. The Family of Charles IV.1800. Museum del Prado, Madrid. Gardener's Art Through the Ages. ed.by Richard G.Tansey and Fred S.Kleiner. Fort Worth: Harcourt Brace, 2003:939. Print.

Images from Print Articles

In addition to information on the work of art/architecture, include the name of article's author, title of the article and periodical title. Follow with the publisher information, date/issue, page and figure number.

For example:

Borallo, Anna Living Room in Paul Grey's Apaertment in New York. Photograph by Nathan Kirkman. Skolnik, Lisa "High resolution". Metropolitan Home 1.5 (2009):117. Print.

Images Found on the Web

Include the artist's name, the year the work was created, and the institution (e.g. gallery or museum) that houses it (if applicable), followed by the city where it is located.

Include the complete information for the site where you found the image, including the date of access.

For example:

Rembrandt, Harmens van Rijn. The Return of the Prodigal Son. c.1665. Oil on canvas. 264x60cm. The State Hermitage Museum, St.Petersburg. The State Hermitage Museum. Web. 17 June 2009.<http://www.hermitagemuseum.org/html_En/03/hm3_3_1_4d.html>

Images Found in Databases

Cite the relevant publication information as you would do for print, followed by name of the database or subscription collection. End the citation with the medium of publication - web, and the date of access. For articles that appear in an online-only format or in databases that do not provide a page number, use the abbreviation n.pag. for no pagination. If no publisher is listed, use N.P. If the work has an alternative name you might want to provide both.

For example:

Wright, Frank Lloyd. Elevation and Plan of the Fallingwater (Kaufmann House). 1936-38. Architecture Image Database, Littman Library, NJIT. AM-722. Web. 16 June 2009.

Citing Maps & Photographs of a Building

Cite a map as you would an anonymous book or pamphlet. Include the appropriate designator after the title.

For example: Newark. Part of Ward 6. Map. Robinson, Elisha Robinson's Atlas of the City of Newark, New Jersey in Three Volumes. Newark, Elisha Robinson, 1926:4.

While citing photograph you should acknowledge a photographer (if known). For example, Photograph by John Smith or Photograph courtesy of the Museum of Modern Art.

Architectural drawings and models are subject to copyright.

Using Academic Search Premier

Subject Guide

Online Resources for Citation Management

The majority of databases listed in this guide provide instruction on how to cite materials in various styles. You can also export citations directly from Oxford Art Online, JSTOR/Artstor, Art Full Text (you need to consult each of them for more specific instruction or read/watch library tutorials on using these databases).

Bibliographic management software enables you to organize references and bibliographies, to import references from electronic databases and the web, and to build a bibliography according to selected styles.

You can use Microsoft Word or special tools for citation management that will do formatting for you. Among them EndNote which can be download from the NJIT website, or  Zotero and EasyBib which are freely available on the web.

New Jersey Institute of Technology 
University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982
(973) 596-3206
Contact Us |  Ask A Librarian | Map & Directions |  A to Z Site Index

Copyrighted 2019 | Robert W. Van Houten Library