Research Guides: Mechanical Engineering: Finding Research

Sources to find engineering research -- Best bets

Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstracts and citations of peer-reviewed literature covering the fields of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts, and humanities from 1960 to the present.
ASME Digital Collection This link opens in a new window
Full-text archive of American Society of Mechanical Engineers Transaction journals, conference proceedings (PDFs), and ASME ebook publications. Journals 1980-present, conference proceedings 2002-present.
IEEE Xplore This link opens in a new window
Provides unlimited access to IEEE journals, magazines, transactions, IEEE and IET conference proceedings articles, and active IEEE standards. Included are IEEE backfiles which extend back to 1884. Subjects range from aerospace systems, computer hardware, software engineering, AI, telecommunications, biomedical engineering, and electric power to consumer electronics.
Materials Science Database This link opens in a new window
Full-text database covering comprehensive scholarly output

Check out additional Databases on our AZ Database List.

More strategies for finding research

Mechanical Engineering touches every aspect of society. Try a database with a disciplinary focus to find relevant research to support your project. For example, if you are working on a device for the medical field or studying the mechanics of blood flow, use a medical database such as PubMed. You can see a list of NJIT's research databases on the NJIT Library A-Z databases page. Sort them by subject to find disciplinary databases in your research area.

Take a look at the complete collection of NJIT Library Research Guides to get advice on finding research in another discipline.

How do you cite research articles in APA style?

Use the following format to cite research articles in APA format:
Author, A. A., Author, B. B., & Author, C. C. (Year). Title of article. Title of Periodical, volume number(issue number), pages. https://doi.org/xx.xxx/yyyy

Example:

Kawauchi, A. (2018). Complexities of a knitting pattern. Reactive and Functional Polymers, 131, 230–236. https://doi.org/10.1016/j.reactfunctpolym.2018.07.025

Learn more from Reference List: Articles in Periodicals from the APA