Skip to main content
[NJIT logo]

Using Images, Citing, and Plagiarism: Citing and Avoiding Plagiarism

This guide offers general information on using and citing information responsibly and ethically specific to art and design disciplines

Library Resources on Writing, Citation, and Plagiarism

Avoiding Plagiarism (including Visual Plagiarism)

For Students

Avoiding Plagiarism (Purdue University)

Plagiarism in Design (Art Institute of Pittsburgh)

The Artist's Rights (Harvard): The law gives artists certain rights in their creations

For Faculty

Visual Plagiarism  

Tools for Detecting Plagiarism

Turnitin (NJIT Research Guide): Turnitin software allows educators to check students’ work for improper citation or potential plagiarism.

General Citation Rules and Citing Images

Check what is the preferred citation style for the paper, for example MLA.

See Purdue Online Writing Lab's great resource on general guidelines and how to cite different kinds of works.

Citing Images: When you document images you need to create captions and bibliographic citations. When an image appears in the text you should write a descriptive caption indicating the source of the image. Then you create a more detailed entry in your bibliography. The most important is to be consistent in formatting the text.

For citing images of works in visual arts you need to include basic information:

  • Author
  • Title
  • Date
  • Location/Repository
  • Material/medium
  • Dimensions (if applicable)

For example: Braque, Georges. Houses at l"Estaque. 1908. Oil on canvas, 730x595mm. Kunstmuseum, Berne.

To see more examples, including images in books, print articles, on the Internet, and in a database consult the library tutorial How to Cite Images.

See also the NJIT Research Guide Understanding Citations.

Online Resources for Citation Management

You can export citations directly from most databases, including Oxford Art Online, JSTOR, Art Full Text, and Avery Index. See the Research Guide for more information on using databases.

Bibliographic management software enables you to organize references and bibliographies. You can use Microsoft Word or special tools for citation management that will do formatting for you.

New Jersey Institute of Technology 
University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982
(973) 596-3206
Contact Us |  Ask A Librarian | Map & Directions |  A to Z Site Index

Copyrighted 2019 | Robert W. Van Houten Library