Skip to main content
[NJIT logo]
Ask A Librarian | Hours | Directions | My Library Account 

Introduction to the Littman Library: Images , Videos & Materials Samples

This guide will introduce you to the Littman Library, its collections and services.

Videos in the Library

The library video collection covers a wide variety of topics related to architecture, art and design. Videos can be located by searching the online catalog or by browsing our list of video recordings. Videos are located behind the desk and can be borrowed for one day or viewed in the library, and we have VHS and DVD players available to borrow. Ask for assistance at the circulation desk. 

The Library also subscribes to STASH, an online magazine which provides access to an archive of animation and VFX videos (2004-current).
 
For video tutorials on how to use design software, consult Digital Tutors.

Images

The Littman Library maintains a Slide Collection of over 70,000 slides, located in the Visual Resources Room. Many of these slides have been digitized and are also available through the library's Image Database. The library maintains this database to support research and teaching by allowing students to use the digital images in classes and in presentations.
 
The library's website also provides access to various online image resources. Consult the research guide Finding Images in Architecture, Art and Design for more in-depth information on finding and using images in your research and projects.

Maps and Architectural Drawings

The Littman Library also has a collection of visual materials including architectural drawings, prints, photographs, postcards, and maps going back to the 1800s, many of them related to Newark history and architecture. These, along with some rare books, were used to create the Digital Archive of Newark Architecture, and are currently available online. To use graphic materials, please ask for assistance at the circulation desk.

Materials Library

To access the Materials Library, ask for staff assistance. We also have a subscription to the Material ConneXion database. For more information on materials resources, consult the Materials Collection research guide.

Subject Guide

New Jersey Institute of Technology 
University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982
(973) 596-3206
Contact Us |  Ask A Librarian | Map & Directions |  A to Z

Copyrighted 2017, Robert W. Van Houten Library