Skip to main content
[NJIT logo]

History of Architecture: Writing and Citing

This guide has been designed to help students in the School of Art and Design with the study of the History of Architecture

Writing Tips

Following books contain some valuable tips for writing your papers:

Cite Your Sources

You need to acknowledge used resources by describing them in a way that readers can identify and find the source. Citations usually include information on who is responsible for the text, what is the name of the text, who published it, where and when. You must include a citation when you quote the exact words of a source, paraphrase the words or use distinctive ideas found in this source.

You can learn more about citing your sources and creating bibliographies in the library's Cite your Sources guide which will introduce you to both print and online resources for citation management. The page Create Bibliographies discusses various writing guides and style manuals and provides access to online guides to citing print and electronic resources. It also lists books available in the library on how to write about architecture, how to cite materials and how to create bibliographies. You can also watch this video from Purdue University for more information on citations.

Understanding Intellectual Property

To learn general information about intellectual property, plagiarism and citing, watch the NJIT tutorial Intellectual Property in the Digital Age.

You can also consult these books in the library:

Online Resources for Citation Management

The majority of the databases listed in this guide provide instruction on how to cite materials from them in various styles. You can also export citations directly from Oxford Art Online, JSTOR, Art Full Text (you need to consult each of them for more specific instruction or read/watch library tutorials on using these databases).

Bibliographic management software enables you to organize references and bibliographies. to import references from electronic databases and the web, and to build a bibliography according to selected styles.

You can use Microsoft Word or special tools for citation management that will do the formatting for you. Among them are EndNote, which can be download from the NJIT website, or the freely available Zotero and EasyBib. 

Subject Guide

New Jersey Institute of Technology 
University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982
(973) 596-3206
Contact Us |  Ask A Librarian | Map & Directions |  A to Z Site Index

Copyrighted 2019 | Robert W. Van Houten Library