Research Guides: Finding Information on Newark Architecture: Finding Books and Articles

Finding Books on Newark

We own a large selection of books on Newark history, culture and architecture. Some of them can be located by using the online catalog (type "Newark" as a subject or as a key word). Books in digital format can be found via the Digital Archive of Newark Architecture on the Books page. Some of them are scanned and saved in PDF format while others are available via the Google Books site.

There are also links to catalogs of other libraries which are instrumental for finding books not owned by NJIT.

Find More E-books..

You can find more books available online by searching Google Books

Finding Articles on Newark

The majority of information on Newark architecture can be found in articles. Many of these have been digitized and made available on the archive page Articles/Books, and many more can be found by searching various indexes and databases. Although indexes, unlike full-text databases, provide citations only, their usefulness should not be underestimated. Avery Index is an invaluable tool for finding information on architecture and urban planning, as well as on specific buildings and architectural images.

Academic Search Premier from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
A leading multidisciplinary research database. It provides acclaimed full-text journals, magazines, and other valuable resources from 1970 to the present time.
Art Index Retrospective (H.W. Wilson) from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
An index database provides access to art literature covering fine, decorative, and commercial art. Content includes peer-reviewed publications and citations of book reviews. Coverage:1929-1984
Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
The Avery Index to Architectural Periodicals indexes periodicals published worldwide on archaeology, city planning, interior design, historic preservation and architecture.
Business Source Premier from EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
A database that provides coverage of articles on business, marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Many articles are available with full-text. Company Profiles are also included as well.
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides selective full-text, indexing, and abstracts for many top communication journals covering all related disciplines, including media studies, linguistics, rhetoric, and discourse.
JerseyClicks This link opens in a new window
A portal for searching full-text databases offered by the New Jersey State Library.

Littman Library Image Database

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
The JSTOR includes hundreds of core titles across disciplines including humanities, social sciences, business, science and mathematics, botany, ecology, health sciences, and more.
New York Times Online This link opens in a new window
Important: You must register using your NJIT UCID username/email to obtain access to NYTimes Online. NJIT students, faculty, and staff have 24/7 unlimited access including mobile access to the latest news with the ability to save and set up alerts on articles from 1851 to the present. Limited access to archive content: 5 articles per day for content from 1851 to 2002. This includes access to the InEducation academic resources or learning tools.
Nexis Uni (formerly Lexis Nexis Academic) This link opens in a new window
Database of news, business, and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
OmniFile Full Text Mega (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
A full-text database of essential publications for research across many disciplines, including art, education, humanities, and technology. It also provides indexing and abstracts for thousands of publications.

Find More Articles

You can find more articles by searching Google Scholar

Subject Guide

Maya Gervits

Using Databases at Rutgers Libraries

You can also search databases available at Rutgers DANA Library