Skip to main content
[NJIT logo]
Ask A Librarian | Hours | Directions | My Library Account 

Finding Information on Newark Architecture: Getting Started

This guide will help to find information on the built environment of Newark by using Digital Archive of Newark Architecture and other resources.

Finding Information on Newark Architecture

Information on the built environment of Newark can be found using different sources. Digital Archive of Newark Architecture contains a variety of materials: books, e-books, articles, archival resources, images, maps, and links to numerous websites. This guide will help you to navigate the Archive and other related resources while working on your research assignments. 

All materials provided by the Digital Archive of Newark Architecture can  be used as a basic source of information. You can supplement them by reading books, articles, and by exploring archival materials. This Guide will help you to locate, evaluate  and also to properly cite found text and images.

While researching your topics you will need to consult numerous print and web based resources, both current and those of the period of the architectural monument’s original construction.To develop better research strategy read Library tutorials How to Research a Building and How to Find Information on Architects. A list of major  research collections outside of NJIT can be found on the page Research Resources.

Pages Buildings and Articles of the Digital Archive contain detailed information on some  of the architectural landmarks in Newark. Among them are the most comprehensive National Records of Historic Places Inventory, Historic American Building Survey (HABS), and a section Selected Articles. In addition there are some documents generously provided by the Newark Public Library.

Other pages of this guide discuss How to find Books and Articles, How to Find Maps, Images and Video Recordings, and How to Cite Images. It also provides links to various tutorials and related subject guides.

Using Resources at Newark Public Library

The Charles F. Cummings New Jersey Information Center at Newark Public Library has the research-level collections of materials on Newark.  They house approximately 2500 historical and current maps (bound and on film) including Sanborn maps files along with other miscellaneous fire insurance atlases for Newark and nearby communities. You can also find there books, journal and newspaper articles, and the reknowned picture collection. Prior to visiting the center you can search their holdings via the library online catalog. For better results use advanced search and limit  your finding by selecting a particular material format, for example "print map" or "graphic".

Finding Statistics & Government Documents

To find statistical data review the archive page Statistical Resources. Government documents, Newark master plans and redevelopment plans can be found on the page Governement Documents. These pages also provide access to  US Census, federal, transportation and other statistical data.

Finding Student Works

To find related to Newark student works review archive pages Reports and Student Work, you can also search Kepler archive (NJIT only, login required).

New Jersey Institute of Technology 
University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982
(973) 596-3206
Contact Us |  Ask A Librarian | Map & Directions |  A to Z

Copyrighted 2017, Robert W. Van Houten Library