This is the "Get Started" page of the "Free Online Resources for NJIT Alumni" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
[NJIT logo]
ASK A LIBRARIAN | HOURS | DIRECTIONS | MY LIBRARY ACCOUNT

Free Online Resources for NJIT Alumni   Tags: alumni, library_privileges, policies, services  

We have compiled a collection of freely accessible online resources arranged by broad interest categories that provide quality information at no cost. The list is not comprehensive.
Last Updated: Mar 5, 2012 URL: http://researchguides.njit.edu/alumni-free-online-resources Print Guide RSS Updates
Get Started Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

General Interest

Google Scholar - Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles.

JerseyClicks - JerseyClicks is New Jersey's statewide portal that features searching of the statewide full-text databases offered by the New Jersey State Library, the New Jersey Network, and funds from the Library Services and Technology Act. The portal can be accessed by entering the first six digits of your library card number (any card issued by a library in the state of New Jersey).


 

Science/Technology Interest

BioMed Central - Science, technology and medicine publisher pioneered the open access publishing model. Provide original research articles published by BioMed Central are made freely and permanenetly accessible online immediately upon publication. Currently available are 208 peer reviewed open access journals.

Civil Engineering Database (CEDB) - American Society of Civil Engineers's free information retrieval service providing access to over 170,000 bibliographic records of all ASCE publications.

Entrez - A cross-database search engine that includes PubMed (MEDLINE), PubMed Central, Human Genome, GenBank, Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man (OMIM) and other NCBI (National Center for Biotechnology Information) databases, including databases of protein and nucleic acid sequences. For help with searching these databases see the NCBI Handbook.

Google Patent - Read and download millions of patents and patent applications by searching the full text of the U.S. patent corpus and find patents that interest you.

JerseyClicks - JerseyClicks is New Jersey's statewide portal that features searching of the statewide full-text databases offered by the New Jersey State Library, the New Jersey Network, and funds from the Library Services and Technology Act. The portal can be accessed by entering the first six digits of your library card number (any card issued by a library in the state of New Jersey).

PubMed - (Public Access to Medline): Indexes articles in a broad range of preclinical and clinical disciplines. It is the version of MEDLINE that the National Library of Medicine makes available for free, and contains a collection of newer articles that are not yet indexed and included in other versions of MEDLINE.  Coverage: 1950 - present

 

Social Sciences/Humanities Interest

JerseyClicks - JerseyClicks is New Jersey's statewide portal that features searching of the statewide full-text databases offered by the New Jersey State Library, the New Jersey Network, and funds from the Library Services and Technology Act. The portal can be accessed by entering the first six digits of your library card number (any card issued by a library in the state of New Jersey).

New Jersey Institute of Technology | University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982 | (973) 596-3206 | Maintained by Robert W. Van Houten Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip