This is the "Home" page of the "Alumni Research Service" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
[NJIT logo]
Ask A Librarian | Hours | Directions | My Library Account 

Alumni Research Service   Tags: alumni, borrowing, databases, free, library_privileges, reference, services  

Alumni may use this research guide to discover and link to open access resources and NJIT remote Research Services.
Last Updated: Oct 31, 2016 URL: http://researchguides.njit.edu/alumni Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Access

Your alumni card enables you to access the NJIT Libraries in person and use our online Research Service for Alumni.

By contract, remote access to the NJIT Libraryies' indexes, databases, and electronic journals is available only to current students, faculty and staff, although you are certainly welcome to come in and use these resources on-site at the Van Houten or Littman Libraries.

However there are many useful sources that are available for use without subscription or institutional affiliation. We have assembled a select list of these here.

Contact a Research Specialist

 

Multidisciplinary Databases

JerseyClicks Access restricted to New Jersey residents
Index to, and in many cases access to the full text of, thousands of articles and entries from magazines, newspapers, and reference books, as well as images and a full-text collection of government, business, personal and tax forms. Includes resources appropriate to middle school and high schools populations, as well as scholarly and research resources such as Business Source Elite and Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition. Search across databases simultaneously, or go to "Custom Search" and select the database(s) that you'd like to search.
Google Scholar
Use the Google search engine to search specifically for scholarly literature.
Patents
   Use The USPTO database, Google Patents, and other international patent databases.
WorldCat
Search across the largest library network in the world for books, music, and videos and then locate those items in a nearby library.
Ingentaconnect 
Search tables of contents and abstracts of 4.5 million articles from 13,500 publications.
BASE: Bielefeld Academic Search Engine
Searches across about 45 million scholarly documents, about 75 percent of which are available in full-text.
CiNii Articles
Search across 15 million articles published in academic society journals, university research bulletins or included in Japan's National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index Database.
Videolectures.net
Video repository of almost 18,000 lectures/conference presentations delivered since 2006. Much of the content relates to the sciences, especially computer science, however there is also a sizable collection of videos relating to the social sciences and humanities as well. From the Institut Jozef Stefan in Slovenia.

Research Consultation

Profile Image
Davida Scharf, MLS, PhD
Contact Info
Director of Reference
Van Houten Library, NJIT
973-642-4397
Send Email
 

Chat

New Jersey Institute of Technology | University Heights, Newark, New Jersey 07102-1982 | (973) 596-3206 | Maintained by Robert W. Van Houten Library

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip